After Birth, Part 3/3…🌸



Labour was an absolutely amazing experience & I wouldn’t have it any other way! 


After delivering my son, my mum cut his chord & the paediatric doctor took him over to be examined. This part literally takes a few minutes but it feels like a lifetime! I asked how much he weighed about 39 times & no one was answering me which made nervous. As I had been told he was below his estimated fetal weight when my waters had started leaking I was worried he was Wally small. Eventually they responded explaining they were waiting for the scales & when they did weigh him, my boy was a healthy 5lbs5oz beauty! πŸ™πŸΎπŸ’™ 

At that point I’ll tell you I instantly felt tired. It was as if the whole day came crashing down on me at once. I wasn’t in any pain & my eyes closed repeatedly. I felt like a baby fighting my sleep 😩 but I woke up when they placed him on my chest & the rest of the room became invisible. I say with him, both of us naked, and let our souls connect. He stoooed crying & suckled into my chest. I couldn’t believe I carried him! My girl was congratulating me & taking pictures & my mum just looked so full of joy. My girl called my younger sister who was excited beyond belief so she went & got her & bought her back. 

As I was trying to gather my head I realised my legs were still up in stirrups πŸ˜‚so I asked what was going on. I was so knackered I didn’t realise the midwife was still busy with my underneaths πŸ˜‚ The second midwife gave me 2 injections (can’t remember what they were) to help contract & deliver the placenta. Literally felt nothing ! I remember seeing slide out & thinking, “urghhhh people actually eat that?!”. The midwife then told me I had a second degree tear & she was going to stitch me up. She then injected me to numb the area which felt like little pinches. 

At that point I was so tired & anxious for my sons return I just nodded & smiled. I laid back and wondered. I tore? Why doesn’t it hurt? How much is second degree? Am I gonna be able to go to the toilet? Is the recovery bad? 

My son cried out which bought me back to reality & the nurse was there stitching away. It’s weird that I could feel the needle with each stitch but I didn’t feel pain. Whatever she injected me with clearly worked πŸ˜‚ when she got to the end where the knot was done, again, it felt like a pinch and it was over. 

They bought my son over and he anxiously searched for my nipple. He tried to latch on a few times before letting out a huge yawn & falling asleep. Honestly, skin to skin brings such a calm & peaceful aura over you & you fall deeper in love with your little blessing. It’s amazing that this little person knows you instantly. It’s incredible how he studies you as you speak & squints his eyes to adjust to the lights all while burrowing into your chest to hear your heartbeat. I couldn’t stop staring at him 😩 All these months I wondered what you’d look like and there you were, staring right up to me probably wondering the same thing. 

I then asked my mum & sister to dress him as I got up & walked around the room trying to relieve my leg cramps. As he settled to sleep under the heated light I decided to have a shower & by the time I came out there was a clean bed waiting for me. I climbed in nodded off with him snuggled in my arms…

20.01.17 was the best day of my life & I couldn’t imagine it any other way… πŸ’™πŸ™πŸΎ

– Feeling more than blessed Muva Nae 🌸

Leave a Reply

